bikerly blog

When rubber meets road.

In cycling, good business on July 30, 2010 at 8:39 pm

Earlier this week I received an email from a reader. I’ll call him the Michelin man. He thanked me for sharing the Dr. Seuss poem on bikerly blog and asked if I would be interested in a Michelin bike partnership opportunity. I didn’t know how to respond since I’ve only considered this blog a means to improve writing skills and tell some short stories about biking, running, tree fort adventures and the like. Getting the word out about good bike products is important, but I wasn’t sure if this was bikerly blog’s thing.

The thing is, my Subaru is over a decade old and among other stuff like brakes, it needs new tires by Winter. With the cost of tires and other related maintenance, I wonder if the $1,500+ would be money well spent. And then there is the uneasy feeling about supporting oil, the angst stepping into a hot box after work, etc. etc. I’ve been trying to commute more on my bike with the hopes of replacing the Subaru with an extracycle or similar cargo bike.

Raised on a farm, I’ve seen many Michelin and they’ve been great performing tires. And, I’m a big fan of companies that use social media strategy for good (vs evil). I thought, here’s a company that is trying to get the word out about bike tires – which is a good thing. I did some research and based on comments at LovingTheBike.com their bike tires are solid, like my experience with the farm tires. Long story short, I’ve decided to buy replacement Michelin City Pilot tires for my Raleigh 29er, some fenders and pursue the idea of being car free. In this aspect I’m partnering with Michelin to get the word out about biking… when given the chance to buy bike tires or car tires, go by bike.

PS – if mountain biking is your deal and the chance of winning a Giant mountain bike makes you happy, you have until July 31 to enter here.

  1. Improving your skills…..? I think you are already there. I am completely honest when I say that this post of yours gave me “that feeling”. I don’t know how to describe it, but I only get it when I read something pure, honest, and completely from the heart.
    Best post you’ve ever written, my friend.

    Darryl

    • Thanks, Darryl. I almost didn’t write it… what a boring topic –> tires.

      I ordered them and some fenders this weekend by the way. Curious how they roll.

  2. I shall look forward to your review on the Michelin City Pilot tires … And agree with Darryl – you have created a great place here; you are a wonderful writer. Happy way to start my Monday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

