bikerly blog

Aero position and the eagle. A short story.

In cycling, running on August 5, 2010 at 10:53 am

There was this brilliant summer haze over the river, wild flowers shooting up everywhere, I was completely lost in the moment and ran right by my turn around point. I was entirely lost in the rhythm of the run.

I’ve had alot of good runs like this lately. The thing I find about running over cycling is reception. I love running and cycling equally, but for whatever reason my receiver is just more tuned to nature’s signals during the run. Like the other day for example, I was shuffling along in my Sauconys when I noticed the most incredible bald eagle perched on top of the tree. It was a rare moment, not only because of the eagle spotting, but because I was actually going at a pretty good pace (but still a shuffler).

I stopped dead in my tracks. We locked eyes. And exchanged some sort of shared admiration for our urban surroundings. The eagle spoke to me, not literally, but you get the idea. It was a beautiful moment until we were both surprised by a cyclist sprinting around the corner, in the aero position, unaware of our meeting. And the eagle flew away.

I’m just saying.

  1. […] hopeful sunshine cutting through a storm front I remembered some positive stuff.  Bikerly’s short story about an eagle and Cassi’s slowly.  That’s what is missing.  A nice, leisurely bike […]

  2. I saw a beautiful (and very large) white owl sitting atop a stop sign on a run last month. It was early morning, and like you and the eagle, the owl and I looked at each other and I ran right under him.

    (I half expected to see an invitation to Hogwarts in my mailbox that day; it was that surreal.)

Leave a Reply

