bikerly blog

Addicted to cycling. How are you going to explain this to your cat?

In cycling, on blogging on August 17, 2010 at 10:26 am

There are times when a tweet just doesn’t cover it. You might have a #bikeschool story so smashing that you need to blog it out. So what are you afraid of? Is the lizard brain taking residence in your head?

A few days ago I asked a Twitter friend if he’s ever considered blogging and the response was this: “Thanks. I have considered blogging, but I have a hard time expressing myself well in writing.”

Does this sound like a guy who can’t write? How else to tell the world about our great biking adventures? Tweeting is great, don’t get me wrong, but once you enter the world of blogging I think you will be hooked, in a big ring way.

Need more inspiration to start blogging? Here’s a couple of my biz heroes on blogging…

If Seth Godin and Tom Peters agree on something it’s important stuff. Peters, “no single thing in the last 14 years professionally has been more important to my life than blogging.”

So what are you waiting for? It’s free. And here’s a great guide to getting started. ¬†Just throw something together and put out your first post.

  1. ok, I’m sold. Guess I’ll start blogging now. 8)

  2. I think blogging changed my life. Seriously!!
    At first I was shy to hit that “publish” button and now I just can’t wait for my posts to be read!
    Sharing my thoughts on cycling has giving me another outlook at my cycling experience, appreciating every single moment when I’m out there.
    As a French speaking girl, it also gave me the opportunity to write in English, which is new to me. I think I’m getting “gooder and gooder” hihi!!
    Mari-jo (@marijolamarche)

  3. Hmmm…that quote looks familiar. What advice would you give to someone that’s not a natural writer?

    • Hey, twitter friend. Riding a bike wasn’t natural at first either.

      I don’t think it matters… natural or not, just start writing about something you are interested in.

      Write for you — only you.

      Don’t compare your stuff to other people’s posts, especially Tim’s blog (he’s an old guy and been at this awhile).

      Start. And learn the way along the way. If it’s not fun? Stop.

      That’s all I have. I’ve enjoyed it, not always, but mostly.

      If Darryl from @lovingthebike pokes around here the next couple days hopefully he and others can also comment on your question…

      Let me know when you go live so I can drop in.

    • Hi,

      Bikerly asked if I would reply to your comment for him. Advice…huh? Well, I would say that everyone is a good writer, but everyone has their own type of style inside of them.
      When you’re writing about what you enjoy, it sort of just flows out of you. If you’re worried about sentence structure and grammar, maybe you can get a friend to help you out with that part.
      Or….you can always be a video or podcast blogger. Maybe you’re better in front of the camera than on the keyboard….just find what works for you, and go for it.

      Darryl

    • I tell you what my college technical writing professor told me: “the only good writing is rewriting.”

      Write. Rewrite. Edit. Take constructive comments. Ignore the the critics that don’t offer help. Write it again. Read it outloud. Get somebody you trust to read it. Write it again.

      http://www.quotegarden.com/writing.html

  4. I enjoy blogging and have never enjoyed writing. My writing style is very rudimentary but as I see it I am writing something I can check back on later. If others read it it’s just bonus. Great post!

Leave a Reply

